Three Feminist Teaching/Community/Space Making Projects

October 9, 2013

This blog post will serve as part of a brief introduction to my current interests as teacher, professor, artist and activist. It will be presented live, on October 10, 2013, to about fifty senior Media Studies majors at the Claremont Colleges. I begin with this video, one I’ve repurposed from a longer talk I gave at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo last spring, about the same three projects: Learning from YouTube, Feminist Online Spaces, and FemTechNet’s DOCC 2013 (all of which are projects that use teaching as a place for my research, community building, activism, and critical internventions into Internet culture.)

The two points I’d like to add here are:

1) I use this video again not because I am lazy or overtaxed, although at least one of these is true, but because it establishes, in form, many of the linked possibilities and obstacles of networked knowledge production in media studies:

  • its recursive nature
  • its permanence and temporariness
  • its ease of production and dissemination
  • its related contextual and de-contextual affordances, which is to say

2) Why do we do continue to do things in person, when everything I have to say about my work, I’ve already done online (perhaps with more clarity, or brevity, or perhaps with greater detail and more depth)

  • how do we theorize and make media in a time of overabundance and in a place that is here, there, and everwhere?

 

2 Responses to “Three Feminist Teaching/Community/Space Making Projects”


  1. While it is clearly true that online media opens up access to those who are not able to be physically present (as evidenced by the fact that I encountered this from a random internet search for “critical pedagogy” and with no foreknowledge of the presentation for which it was prepared), I can’t help but wonder about the paradigm in which such a situation makes that the case. What does this statement speak of the priveleged role of academia that such technology which requires a prerequisite of some degree of monetary means is considered making something more accessible? I can’t help but wonder about my students last year who had informed me that they had no internet at home and who all lived in a neighborhood so destitute that the city had decided to shut down the neighborhood library, removing for them any possibility of internet access but what we provided in the school.

  2. MP:me Says:

    Jeff: Can I start with how your post, both in its wise content, and the very fact that it is, engages centrally and critically with the ideas of my post. THANKS. Which is to say that my you are right, the elitist and unstated paradigm of my post (by a college professor for college students) is nevertheless ripped from its context, and is found by you (an early childhood educator—precisely what I hope to be when I move on from this job!) where you can remind me that while access expands (to you) it is nothing like universal, so that my comments only stay relevant for a specific class of learners (in both senses). Which is also to say, of course, that this is one post out of hundreds, for one audience (and many: hello!), and I think about the questions of relative access you address in many other posts (my point about over-abundance, once you’ve said it, need you say it again, even if there’s always a new audience, it’s there to be found): you might be interested in this from 2008 or this also from 2008! Hope to hear more from you.


Leave a Reply

